Curry, Curry in a Hurry

Potato Chard curry - not the most vibrant looking dish, but pretty vibrant in flavor.

Saturdays in our house are often filled with house projects and errands. I usually take more time to make dinner on these days and these dinners are more elaborate. On this particular weekend day, I believed I had all the time in the world in the morning. Alia and I went to our co-op and international foods store and took our time sampling and picking up a few things. I don’t know about you, but I love exploring our international grocery -  hundreds of  hot sauces and curry pastes in cans with Thai characters, any kind of dal imaginable, and frozen dumplings in brightly colored bags. So, we dawdled.

We arrived home and everyone had lunch, then we planted Luca’s bean project and a cabbage he brought home from school. Then, the day seemed to disappear . . . I went for a run, a friend called about an impromptu gathering for another friend who was passing through, Scott got out the industrial sized weed eater and started hacking away at bushes. I decided on a quick curry I had wanted to make earlier in the week. I prepped all the ingredients (with Luca volunteering to help! He separated the leaves from the rainbow chard – he called it disco chard.) before going to my friend’s, then put the dish together when I arrived home later.  While the curry simmered, I made a simple rice pilaf.

It was tasty and came together quickly – perfect for a Saturday that (pleasantly) got away from me.

Potato and Chard with a Green Curry Sauce

slightly adapted from A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen (This is one of our go-to cookbooks – quick, flavorful meals arranged by season . . . only one or two clunkers so far.)

1 tablespoon canola oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon minced ginger root
1 14-oz. can unsweetened coconut milk, with 1/2 cup thickened cream scooped out and reserved
1 tablespoon (to taste) prepared green curry paste (I bought Maesri Green Curry Paste at our international grocery. Thai Kitchen brand is more widely available. I started out with 1/2 a tablespoon then added more as the dish came together.)
1/2 cup water
2 lbs. yukon gold or red potatoes, cut into bite-size chunks (I threw in a couple Russets because I didn’t have enough Yukons. The Russets did break down a bit, which was fine. They added a thickness to the sauce. I would not make this with all Russets because you would end up with mashed potatoes.)
salt
1 bunch swiss chard, leaves removed from the stems and chopped
1/2 cup packed fresh cilantro leaves
1 tablespoon or more fresh lime juice

Heat the oil in a dutch oven over medium heat. Add the garlic and ginger and cook until fragrant, no more than 1 minute.

Add the 1/2 cup thickened coconut cream and curry paste. Simmer briskly 2-3 minutes until the liquid evaporates and a thick paste forms.

Add the remaining coconut milk, water, potatoes, and 1/2 ts. salt and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat, cover, and cook, stirring occasionally, for 20 minutes.

Stir in the chard, cover and cook, until tender, about 5 minutes.

Stir in the cilantro and lime juice. Add salt to taste and serve over rice.

Ratings:

Me:  B+ (See Scott’s comment below. I did hold back on the curry paste because of the kids. I can see this dish as a platform and adding other vegetables like red bell pepper or zucchini during the summer.)

Scott:  B (“It needs a little something else – more heat, another vegetable.”)

Luca:  A (“I would give it an A+ if the rice wasn’t so salty.”)

Alia:  D (She had a few bites, but that was it)

2 responses

  1. I just finished eating this & really liked it!! I would make it again. Now, I used light coconut milk because of WW’s (I know the author of the original recipe said not to….but I had no choice). I’m looking forward to eating more tomorrow wondering if the flavors will change. We used 1 Tbs of the green curry paste & perhaps try with 1 1/2 Tbs next time to see what that does. Since we’re no red bell pepper people….your suggestion of zucchini would be a nice addition. I wonder what else would work? This is a new type of recipe for us AND a first using chard. The produce guy was being an a_ _. We know nothing about chard & saw red chard. I told him that we’re trying something new to us & asked him if this is like Swiss chard. He responded as if I were an idiot. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!

  2. Thanks so much for reporting back, Eileen! It sounds like you all had the same response as we did. I think I will add more curry paste next time. I have been wracking my brain for other additions and have only come up with chickpeas so far. I’m glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

