And, After the Bliss There Is

an egg with some hash browns? Wednesdays and Thursdays are yoga nights. I am as passionate about yoga as I am about cooking. I am not sure the two will ever come together as I am not all that interested in regularly eating what I see in my yoga books or doing this.

In Poser, Clare Dederer writes about leaving offerings of roasted, organic chicken for her family so she could go practice with a clean conscious. There have been a few times when I have made dinner before yoga . . . when I wasn’t teaching . . . in the summer . . . But, this is not a common occurrence. No clean conscious here. Usually, Scott makes dinner for the kids and I stumble in the house around 7:30 full of bliss and ravenous as hell. So far, two meals seem to fill the bill – a fried egg with hash browns or a #6 with barbeque chips from Jimmy John’s. Not exactly pure eating. My friend Michele swears by this meal (which IS pretty amazing). I can’t be bothered with boiling water in a bliss filled state, however.

My meal is simple, but infinitely satisfying especially since we recently found a source  for local, free-range eggs that have viscous yolks the color of an orange peel (Thank you, Molly!).

Salt is the key to a simple dish like this (to all dishes, in fact). I used to be afraid of salt when I was a teenager. I have no idea why. Fear of a hypertension diagnosis at 16? It must have been the same hormone-induced logic that caused me to live on Minute Rice (unsalted) topped with shredded Colby cheese (what IS the point of Colby anyway?), canned Hormel chili and Yoplait yogurt.

Post-Yoga Bliss on a Plate

1 russet potato shredded using the large holes on a box grater (don’t bother peeling it because, remember, you are ravenous as hell)

1/2 TBS oil – olive, sunflower . . . whatever you have

1 egg

salt and pepper

Heat oil over medium high heat in a cast iron skillet. When hot, put potato shreds in a thin layer covering about 1/2 the pan. Season with salt and pepper. Feeling fancy? Use smoked sea salt. Cover the pan. Reduce heat to medium. Cook for about 7 minutes or until the potatoes are the color of dark caramel. Flip the hash browns. Get the eggs out of the refrigerator. If you have a source for local, free-range eggs, they will be different sizes. Choose the largest one and crack it next to the potatoes. Season both with salt and pepper – not too much, not too little. Put the lid back on. In about 3-4 minutes, lift up the lid to check the egg. When the egg white is opaque over the yolk, flip the egg. If you like the yolk runny, let it go for 30 seconds or so. I like my yolk medium these days, so I let it go for a couple of minutes.

When the egg is done and the the other side of the hash browns is brown, slide onto a plate. In the summer, I slice up a tomato and top it with – you guessed it – salt and pepper.

One potato makes a pretty big serving of hash browns. This is after an evening of attempting things like this, so I think a few extra fried potato shreds are in order.

Rating:

Me:  A

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Food 365

  2. Pingback: A Little Taste of Freedom in the Form of Polenta, Mushrooms and an Egg | Food 365

Leave a Reply

